To stop the defamation of the Jewish people... to secure justice and fair treatment to all
Anti-Defamation League ABOUT ADL FIND YOUR 

International Affairs

Letter to Argentinean President Cristina Fernandez de Kirchner

Posted: July 17, 2009

July 16, 2009 

Her Excellency Cristina de Kirchner
President of the Argentine Republic

Dear Madame President:

In a few days, we will commemorate the fifteenth anniversary of the terrorist bombing of the AMIA-DAIA building in Buenos Aires. We are committed to preserving the memory of the eighty-five people who lost their lives and the hundreds of Argentineans wounded on that tragic day, July 18 1994, and to help bring some closure to those who lost a loved one or were injured in this terrorist attack. In New York, we will be marking the anniversary with a special commemoration, which will include a tribute from Argentina's Ambassador to the United States, Héctor Marcos Timerman. 

We commend your government for the important progress that has been made in recent years in investigating and exposing the international connection to the attack, and we continue to encourage you to publicly affirm that Argentina will spare no effort to identify and prosecute all those involved in this heinous attack, both inside and outside of Argentina.

Madam President, as Iran and Hezbollah have been found responsible for masterminding the AMIA-DAIA bombing, we urge you to continue working with other regional and international leaders to stand up to the dangerously destabilizing force Iran and Hezbollah play in Latin America, the Middle East and elsewhere in the world.

We look forward to continuing to work with your government to put an end to terrorism and those supporting it, and to maintain strong relations between Argentina, the United States and the State of Israel. 



Glen S. Lewy
National Chairman

Abraham H. Foxman
National Director

Print This Page
ADL Commemorates 15th Anniversary of AMIA Terrorist Attack

ADL On-line Home | Search | About ADL | Contact ADL | Privacy Policy

© 2009 Anti-Defamation League